From iconic hillside letters to charming bears, nostalgic theaters and historic railroads, Park City and Heber Valley are home to an array of landmarks that tell the story of the area’s evolution from mining towns to well-known destinations. Join us on a journey through time as we explore landmarks that have shaped the identity of these communities, offering visitors and locals a glimpse into the areas’ distinct personalities.

Franz the Bear
Park City’s adorable bronze sculpture, Franz the Bear by Michele vandenHeuvel, is a beloved fixture in the community. Originally commissioned as public art for the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympic Winter Games, Franz first welcomed athletes and visitors at Park City’s transportation hub. Today, this charming bear sitting on a bench has found a new home on a walkway between Main Street and Swede Alley, where he delights in posing for photos with passersby, young and old.
PC Hill
Seen from all around town, PC Hill is aptly named after the hillside letters commemorating Park City High School. You also can see the marker up close. The PC Hill hike is a quick and steady climb leading to expansive views of the northeastern side of Park City and the ridgeline of Park City Mountain. The vista at the top is one of the best panoramic views of the area.
Memorial Hill
In Midway, Memorial Hill is dedicated to honoring citizens who served in United States military conflicts. Wasatch County purchased the peaceful hilltop, once owned by Jesse Hughes McCarrell and later Elijah Watkins, to memorialize local war veterans. Its spiral road leads to memorial pillars with brass plaques inscribed with veterans’ names. The site offers beautiful scenery and welcomes visitors walking or driving by. An ongoing database allows searches for veterans from the Revolutionary War to the present day.

Heber Valley Railroad
Heber Valley Railroad offers themed rides like the Pumpkin Train, North Pole Express and Rock n’ Roll Train and is a family-favorite destination. However, many aren’t aware of its rich history.
Despite opposition, Heber City successfully advocated for a railroad, leading to Rio Grande Western surveying a route through Provo Canyon in 1896. Construction began in March 1899, and the first Rio Grande Western train arrived in Heber on September 21, 1899, a date marked by a traditional last spike ceremony at Heber Depot. Regular mixed-train service between Provo and Heber started in October 1899 and earned the nickname “Heber Creeper” due to the slow pace. The line accommodated passengers and shipments of lumber, fuel oil, milk, coal and more.
Avon Theater and Ideal Playhouse
Avon Theater transports visitors back to the 1950s with its classic single-screen setup. The landmark has shown films consistently under this name since its opening in Heber City, except for a brief period as Reel Theater.
Steve and Karyn Anderson also have breathed new life into Ideal Playhouse, a century-old gem on Heber’s Main Street. After narrowly escaping closure and potential repurposing, this renovated venue now showcases Broadway musicals, retro movies and live performances. Both theaters combine cutting-edge technology with historical charm.
“We are so excited for this opportunity to protect and preserve these historic buildings on Heber’s Main Street,” says Karyn. “In our research, we found that the Ideal Theater is actually one of the oldest theaters in Utah. It’s definitely a treasure worth saving. We’re looking forward to providing quality entertainment at these historic venues to ensure that they continue on for many years.”

Miner’s Hospital
Built in 1904 to serve the Western Federation of Miners #144, the Miner’s Hospital served that mission for 30 years. In the 1930s, the facility was sold and used as a private clinic. Forty years later, it was repurposed as a restaurant, bar and hostel. The historic building’s use was destined for condominium development until Parkites banded together to save the hospital that was moved to its current setting in City Park. Now on the national and state registers of historic places, Miners Hospital Community Center serves the Park City community as a gathering space for nonprofits and events.
Holiday Lanes Bowling
Another nostalgic gem is Midway’s Holiday Lanes, dating back to 1962 and family-run since 1964. The original pin machines and ball returns are still in place, and the food and beverage menu reflects nostalgic pricing. Holiday Lanes’ signature burger, the Big Will, is named after Phyllis Christensen’s father. Phyllis herself is a classic malt. The Phyllis is made with the same hand-mixing machines used in the sixties. Speaking of the sixties, Holiday Lanes celebrated its 60th anniversary in July 2024.

Egyptian Theatre
The land underneath the Egyptian Theatre on Park City’s Main Street has a rich history dating back to the late 1800s. The original Park City Opera House was destroyed in the town’s 1898 fire and rebuilt as Dewey Theatre. The Dewey’s roof collapsed in 1916, and a new theatre was constructed, opening as Egyptian Theatre on Christmas Day 1926 with the name inspired by the then-recent discovery of King Tut’s tomb.
Over the years, the venue underwent several name changes and modifications, serving as a community gathering place for films and live performances. In the 1960s, as Park City transformed into a resort town, the theatre (then known as The Silver Wheel Theatre) continued to host various events. Facing architectural threats in 1978, the building was restored and became home to Park City Performances in 1981. After foreclosure in the early 1990s, the Save Our Stage Foundation purchased and renovated the building. Today, the Mary G. Steiner Egyptian Theatre proudly hosts performances and events, including the Sundance Film Festival over the years.
Park City Shoe Tree
Legend has it that in the 1970s, some over-served hippies launched their shoes into a tree behind Main Street along Deer Valley Drive and Poison Creek, turning an unassuming tree into a local attraction. The tree drew more attention in 2011 when a complaint was filed to clean up the tree and some neighboring ones accessorized in many-a-footwear. The community rallied behind the trees and their homage to the town’s quaint past, hedonism and small-town funk.

McPolin Farmstead
One of the most iconic and photogenic Park City landmarks is the McPolin Farmstead and barn. The grand white barn, surrounded by open fields and grazing cows and horses, ushers locals and visitors in and out of the community in a special way. Initially built in the 1920s, the barn and farmhouse have been meticulously cared for and refurbished by the Friends of the Farm organization.
Silver King Mine
One of Park City’s “Big Four” mines, Silver King Mine played a pivotal role in establishing the area as one of the world’s most lucrative mining camps early on. In the 1880s, Thomas Kearns and David Keith spearheaded the consolidation of multiple claims on Treasure Hill, leading to remarkable profits and further acquisitions. The mine’s incorporation in 1892 brought together five of Park City’s most colorful figures: Thomas Kearns, David Keith, Susannah Bransford Emery Holmes Delitch Engalitchev (yes, that’s one name), John Judge and Windsor Volney Rice.
The company’s territory grew to encompass much of Park City Mountain Resort’s ski terrain and remnants of mining history like the Silver King Boarding House (now Mid Mountain Lodge), Silver King Mill and water tanks can be seen while skiing the Thaynes Lift area of the mountain. The Silver King’s position as a mining powerhouse laid the groundwork for Park City’s future as a world-renowned ski destination.
“A cornerstone of Park City/Summit County’s Sustainable Tourism Plan is maintaining the authentic character of the region. Part of that pledge includes environmental efforts including the use of public transit and the reduction of our carbon footprint. But it also has everything to do with the preservation of our historic venues and our culture,” says Jennifer Wesselhoff, president and CEO of the Park City Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau. “These are the elements that distinguish our town from all others and pay homage to those who came before us.”


